Make Your Own Washing Soda!

When I started doing DIY projects such as DIY laundry detergent and DIY dishwasher detergent, I had a really difficult time finding washing soda. Come to think of it, I still have not found washing soda in stores! For those of you who have purchased washing soda before, I would love to know where you found it.

After a number of unsuccessful searches for washing soda Tom decided we were going to make our own. When I first heard this I thought he was out of his mind. I was picturing a long and perhaps even difficult process. I was pleasantly surprised to learn that making your own washing soda is extremely easy!

If you are having trouble finding washing soda in stores give this DIY a try:

Spread a thick layer of baking soda onto a baking sheet and bake in the oven for 1 hour at 400F. Remove the baking sheet occasionally (i.e., every 15-20 minutes) and give the product a stir. After baking for one hour allow the product to cool before transferring to an airtight container!

In the future I will be posting DIY projects that require washing soda. As always, if you have any suggestions or requests for DIY projects, regardless of whether or not they call for washing soda, please let me know!

Thanks for reading,

Marley

, , ,

  1. Leave a comment

Questions? Thoughts? Comments? Concerns? I'd love to hear from you!

