Drain Cleaner

Since I had the baking soda out for brightening my nails, I decided it was time to clean the drains. I am sure most, if not all of you, are familiar with this method, so while I may not be providing you with new information, this may serve as a reminder to clean your drains!

I have been using this method since I moved into our condo three years ago. When I first started, I blindly poured any amount of baking soda and vinegar down the drain, I did not cover the drain and I flushed with warm water. I thought it was working great, but looking back, it wasn’t nearly as effective as it is when I do it now.

I use 1/2 cup of baking soda, immediately followed by 1/2 cup of white vinegar. Once both the baking soda and white vinegar have been poured down the drain I cover the drain with a cleaning cloth and let it sit for 20-30 minutes. During this time, I may run through the house and repeat the process on the remaining drains and I start boiling water in the electric kettle. After the time is up, I flush with a few cups of boiling water from the kettle.

I can understand why people are still using this method. Aside from being quick and easy, it works and it works well!

Has anyone ever experienced problems using this method? Does anyone use a different DIY drain cleaning method?

, , , , ,

  1. Some Old Posts | Marley Justine
  2. Blackheads and Baking Soda | Live Laugh Love & Blog

Questions? Thoughts? Comments? Concerns? I'd love to hear from you!

